Nouméa

The largest French-speaking city in Oceania and the main port city of New Caledonia, Nouméa is at the center of the largest lagoon in the world and can be visited for it’s to-die-for  scenery: the beaches of Anse Vata and Baie des Citrons, which include a large number of restaurants, as well as many other aquatic activities such as scuba diving, big game fishing, jet skiing, kite surfing and windsurfing.

Nouméa is also currently establishing itself as an international cruise destination due to its recent integration by P & O in a Sydney programme. The tourist infrastructures of Nouméa make it the real pearl of New Caledonia. But its resources do not stop there: Nouméa also has an important culture and heritage.

We will particularly enjoy strolling in its streets and discover its old colonial houses, presented especially in the city center of Nouméa, the Valleys of the Colons, Faubourg Blanchot, or the Valley of the Shot. Besides the observation of its luxuriant and rich vegetation, one will also appreciate to visit the museum of New Caledonia, which allows the visitor to better apprehend the arts Kanak or simply the Oceanian arts.

In recent years, the festivals that the city hosted have also been multiplyingL cultural events like the Live festival in August, which brings together groups from all musical horizons – rocks, blues, jazz, funk – or even the Biennale Equinoxe, a cross-cultural event that uses a new theme for each edition, which takes place every two years in October.

The city enjoys a tropical ocean climate that allows it to be sunny and warm throughout the year. What earned her the nickname of “city of eternal spring”.

Nouméa

Plus grande ville francophone d’Océanie et principale ville portuaire de Nouvelle-Calédonie, Nouméa est au centre du plus grand lagon du monde et se visite pour ses décors de rêve : les plages de l’Anse Vata et de la Baie des Citrons, qui concentrent un nombre importants de restaurants, permettent aussi de multiplier les activités aquatiques à l’image de la plongée sous-marine, de la pêche au gros, du jet ski, du kite surf, ou encore de la planche à voile.

Nouméa est également en train de s’imposer comme une véritable destination touristique internationale de croisières dans la mesure où P&O l’a intégrée dans un programme en partance de Sydney. Les infrastructures touristiques de Nouméa en font la véritable perle de la Nouvelle-Calédonie. Mais ses ressources ne s’arrêtent pas là : Nouméa possède aussi une culture et un patrimoine importants.

On aimera en particulier se balader dans ses rues et découvrir ses anciennes maisons coloniales, présentes surtout dans le centre-ville de Nouméa, les Vallées des Colons, le Faubourg Blanchot, ou encore la Vallée du Tir. Outre l’observation de sa végétation luxuriante, on appréciera aussi de visiter le musée de Nouvelle-Calédonie, qui permet au visiteur de mieux appréhender les arts kanak ou tout simplement les arts océaniens.

Depuis quelques années, la ville multiplie aussi les festivals et les événements culturels à l’image du festival Live en août qui regroupe des groupes de tous horizons musicaux – rocks, blues, jazz, funk -ou encore la Biennale Equinoxe, un événement transculturel qui utilise un nouveau thème à chaque édition et qui a lieu tous les deux ans en octobre.

Sachez que la ville jouit d’un climat tropical océanique qui lui permet d’être ensoleillée et chaude tout au long de l’année. Ce qui lui a valu le surnom de « ville de l’éternel printemps ».